Fat Fiction Project – Who’s Game?

For a while now I’ve been thinking about fat characters in fiction — there’s my post about science fiction, and spoonforkfuls post in response to a comment on fat people in fiction, and a forum post on Big Fat Blog talking about fat characters in fiction (with a link to cowcake’s post about fat people in fiction).

I’m just finding my feet as a fiction writer (with respect to the rest of the world, I’ve actually written fiction basically since I learned to write). I’ve often considered doing a project comprised of short stories that are fat-positive, or that at the very least have fat characters who are portrayed in a positive light (that is, in a way that doesn’t paint them negatively because of their fatness). But I don’t have much time, considering I’ve just wrapped up one novel and am noting out about five more.

However, it would be great if there existed some blog somewhere that was a collection of fat positive short stories and podcasts to which I could submit. We could have a little writers’ forum for fat-positive writers, a section for straight text and another for audio, an a page with pictures and short bios of all the authors (who would be admins or contributors on the blog). Perhaps we could eventually add a section for fat-positive art, as well. I imagine over time we could start to take external submissions.

So my question to you is, if I create this space, would you like to contribute? If so, what level of contribution would you prefer — regular author with an account on the site, or a sometimes-contributor?

And for others — would a site like this interest you, as readers?

9 comments on “Fat Fiction Project – Who’s Game?

  1. CTJen says:

    Yes I would be interested in this! It sounds AWESOME, to be honest. I would love to contribute, too, but I’m sure I could only commit to once in a while. Good luck! 🙂

  2. Katie says:

    I might be interested in being an occasional contributor with the possibility of becoming a more regular contributor. I haven’t written much fiction since I finished school, but have been wanting to get back into it. This might be a great way for me to do so!

  3. vesta44 says:

    I’m not a writer of fiction, but I’m an avid reader of it! I’d very much be interested in reading whatever’s posted on a site like that.

  4. Yes, yes, I would love to contribute! Maybe once or twice a month?

    I’ve been playing with an idea for a story for some time. It’s about a girl recovering from schizophrenia, with all that that entails, as well as navigating young adult life and her family relationships. One of her major challenges is adjusting to her post-AAP figure, the prejudice that she encounters because of it, and how it intersect with the stigma of psychosis.

    Doing something like this, and writing the novel as a series of short stories, might actually give me the structure I need to feel motivated to write it, lol.

    Anyway, count me in and I think having people create accounts is a good idea, and they should be able to select a contribution level (once a year, once a month, etc.)

    Good luck with your projects by the way. It’s a real bitch to find the time and energy, not to mention the burnout and writer’s block. But it’s so worth it.

  5. bigliberty says:

    Thanks for the comments, everyone! I’m going to move forward with the project. I’ll let you know when I need contributors — there will be a few levels, author, contributor, etc. It’ll give you the freedom to post something new whenever you want. It’ll probably be some weeks/ months before the site’s up and ready to go, since I’ll want to generate a base level of content before the launch.

  6. presq-t'j says:

    Thanks for the mention!

    I’d be interested too as a reader. Best of luck with it.

  7. sweetnfat says:

    I’d love to contribute in all those ways: podcasts, writing, and art! Fabulous idea!

  8. I’d love to read more fabulous fat fiction… and maybe even have a go at writing some myself.

    • bigliberty says:

      Awesome. I’m working on putting the project together now — I want to have a base amount of content ready to go, and a few contributors ‘signed up’ (basically just given contributor/author accounts on the site, since it will be WordPress) before the launch. I’m thinking it’ll be a few months before everything is ready, but definitely stay tunes. I’ll be announcing things and contacting interested people as it gets closer. If you know anyone else who’d be interested in being a contributor/author (no requirements on contribution, and contributions can be made at will) let me know! 🙂

Leave a Reply

