Send Away the Fat Kids

Shudder-worthy article today: Task force: Screen kids, obesity treatment works

An influential advisory panel says school-aged youngsters and teens should be screened for obesity and sent to intensive behavior treatment if they need to lose weight — a move that could transform how doctors deal with overweight children.

Needless to say, sanity watchers points required when reading the entire article.

Ugh, this kind of thing makes me sick…such blatant ‘othering,’ such a huge expense, for: “…intensive treatment can help children lose several pounds — enough for obese kids to drop into the “overweight” category, making them less prone to diabetes and other health problems.”

Several pounds? Twice a week appointments, group ‘therapy’ meant to brainwash children that feeding themselves and/or not having a cookie-cutter body type is a sign of being broken and bad?

Ugh, ugh, ugh. What are your thoughts?

9 comments on “Send Away the Fat Kids

  1. vesta44 says:

    For crying out loud! Lose several pounds? What, so they can gain it back, along with a few more, and then be reviled for being “failures” and sent back to camp again and again and again?
    Dieting doesn’t work for adults, WTF makes them think it will work for kids? Yo-yoing is worse for your health than maintaining a steady weight, and it’s impossible to know what a child’s steady adult weight is going to be, since they, obviously, aren’t adults yet.
    This is just another way to keep the “obesity hysteria” going.

  2. Raine says:

    Wow. What I find ironic is how many young people and their families have begged and struggled for adequate coverage of inpatient or other treatment for eating disorders, and not been able to get it, but these panels recommend wasting money on screening and sending kids to “fat camps”.

    As long as teens and pre-teens are dying from anorexia and bulimia [and god forbid an overweight bulimic actually tries to get treatment], maybe they should focus on eating disorder treatment as a whole [anorexia, bulimia, binge eating disorder, etc] instead of just stigmatizing the “fat kids” and looking at weight instead of health condition.

  3. I suppose I have a very personal reaction to this kind of thing.

    From the ages 3 to 4 I lived on an airbase in the UK. When my mom brought me back to the states, I had this cute little english accent.

    Because of my “accent,” I had to go out every day to a “special” trailer for speech therapy. The trailer was at the far end of the blacktop, so the other kids had a special view of me walking across it every day.

    I’m sure there are a variety of reasons why I was the weird kid in school. I was chubby and smart and, even then, independently minded.

    But I’m certain that going to the “special” trailer every day didn’t help my standing on the playground.

    So, separate from the part where programs like this are all about regulating behavior, I have a particular problem with the idea of separating out the fat kids.

    • bigliberty says:

      Ugh, I also was sent to the trailer. I had a lisp (they run in the family, my cousin still speaks will one today) and then berated for my “chipmunk cheeks.” ?! So having chubby cheeks made me a lisper? Considering I’ve always had difficulty with my s’s, regardless of the rotundity of my cheeks, I beg to differ.

      And being the fat, smart, artsy kid, I empathize.

  4. bigliberty-

    It’s so cool to talk to a kindred spirit.

    Elizebeth

  5. lifeonfats says:

    I agree with Raine. Luckily I have never suffered from an ED, but since joining FA I have learned a lot about the enormous red tape families have to go through to get coverage for ED treatment—which is more devastating emotionally and physically—yet all everyone is up in arms about is the fat. Yes, we can’t deny there may be increased risks for ailments in some people, but that isn’t the case for all fat people. And children, who are still growing, cannot be denied the nutrients they need for overall health simply because they don’t fit the ideal body shape adults can look at. Kind of creepy if you ask me, this grown-up obsession with kids’ bodies.

  6. deannacorbeil says:

    I just dare them to try and get their hands on my child.

    I actually saw a news report today about this topic, and the lovely film accompanying the story showed the infamous headless fat folk, but in this case, they were children. Appalling.

  7. Fat Academic says:

    Fat, smart, artsy kid here too. And I lived in a farming community and attended a very small school and in Australia, a nation OBSESSED with beaches and sport… oh what fun…

    As for fat camps, yeah cos like I wasn’t already insecure enough as a child, that I needed to also be taken away from my parents and sent off somewhere that they were going to just reinfoorce that I was not good enough the way I already was…

    *sigh*

  8. bigliberty says:

    @deanna — headless kids. When has that ever been a good sign, I wonder? It’s one thing to symbolize and dehumanize adults: I think it’s easy for people to somehow project that adults have done something ‘wrong’ to ‘deserve’ such treatment (like ‘eating themselves to fathood’ or some such nonsense). But kids?? Innocent kids??? C’mon. Time for these panic-mongerers to back off the hate-peyote.

    @Fat Academic — I remember hearing about ‘fat camps’ as a kid, and absolutely, positively *dreading* one day being sent to one by my parents. I used to have nightmares. No fooling. 😦

Leave a Reply

