Honest Scrap Awards!

Whatever could you meme by the “Honest Scrap Awards”? Well, like usual, I blame Sylvia and Bianca over at Zaftig Chicks for this one. They’re always up to no good. That red dress from my last post? Totally something they probably would wear. All sinfully and the like. Just color me scandalous.

So the rules are:

1) Present this award to 7 others whose blogs you find brilliant in content and/or design, or those who have encouraged you.

2) Tell those 7 people they’ve been awarded HONEST SCRAP and inform them of these guidelines in receiving the award.

3) Share “10 Honest Things” about yourself.

I’ll do it starting with 3) as well…..

1. I’m descended from four Mayflower passengers, and a whole fuckload of Welsh Kings, Queens, Princesses, and so on. I’m also descended from Mary Eastey, one of the people executed during the witch hysteria in Salem: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mary_Eastey

2. I believe you can romantically love several people at once. I think it’s quite wonderful, how love multiplies and never divides…

3. My mother-in-law dated Merv Griffin.

4. When I was a kid my favorite magazines were Zoobooks and Ranger Ricks, and I was (the 80s version of) an environmentalist and animal rights activist. I once raised funds to help abused and neglected horses.

5. I met my husband on a popular Star Trek messageboard.

6. Paul Newman almost ran my husband over when my husband was a kid.

7. My family believes my grandmother’s old farmhouse was haunted. She swears to several encounters, including unexplained, regular, loud footsteps in the attic, a full-body apparition in her room. My aunts and uncles swear they saw objects move on their own.

8. My childhood was punctuated by repeated encounters with an acquaintance of my dad, Kenny Rogers.

9. I was proudly Wiccan in high school, and used to read Tarot very well.

10. There’s a legendary curse in my family of hauntings being passed down the family line — according to the story, my grandfather would wake in the night or early morning, with the feeling of something sitting on his chest, or on his feet, or on the edge of the bed. He’d be paralyzed, unable to move. My grandfather (a scientific-minded nuclear engineer, mind you) used to refer to it as “his demon.” Both my mother, and myself, have had numerous similar experiences. No one else in our family has experienced it. I researched it, and it’s probably just a form of temporarily paralysis right after waking, which is common. But the feeling that someone is sitting on the edge of the bed — could never quite explain that one to my satisfaction.

And now, for the tagged lovely award winners (only 6, because I like to be different — oh, and I on purpose didn’t repeat any of the ZC’s winners, though many of you would have also appeared on my list!):

  1. Introverted Bride
  2. Purely Politics. Partisan? Perhaps.
  3. Eema-le
  4. Richie49 (even though his blog isn’t active, his comments are as good as a blog!)
  5. Fat Angie
  6. JunkfoodScience (though don’t waste your time writing a follow up meme! Just thought you deserved it!)

 

This entry was posted in Memes.

3 comments on “Honest Scrap Awards!

  1. Bianca says:

    Please, that dress is not nearly slutty enough for Sylvia or myself. We do have a reputation to maintain kthanksbye!

    Oh, and that reputation includes the ability to glitter our cleavage in every outfit that we wear.

  2. scatteredmarbles says:

    Wow, these were so interesting to read. I have also had experiences of feeling like someone was sitting on my chest or feet and being paralyzed. I never knew it was something pretty common or that others had felt that too lol. I guess I am not as weird as I think I am 🙂 really cool to read this.

  3. Angie says:

    I hate sleep paralysis, I remember one time it was so bad that I was trying my damnedest to scream, but couldn’t.

    And ITA with #2

Leave a Reply

