Congrats, Whitney, for Consistent Showmanship

I want to congratulate Whitney, the winner of America’s Next Top Model, for consistent showmanship, poise, stating a plus-size-positive message whenever she had the opportunity. Here’s a YouTube of her interview on the Regis and Kelly show:

I watched a few of the old episodes from YouTube, and I was impressed by how consistently Whitney projected a size-positive message, and had no fear of speaking out about the unhealthy, abusive expectations the modeling industry places on the majority of its “normal-sized” (!!) clients.

One of her lines during the morning show interview was: “Do you know the majority of nine years olds are dieting? And I have a 13 year-old cousin who thinks she’s fat! Can you believe that?”

Gorgeous and wonderful. I know many people here object to the fact that they don’t consider her truly “plus-sized” since she’s a size 10 and most plus sizes start at 12, but remember, this is “plus-size” as defined by the 0-2 obsessed high-fashion industry. What Whitney consistently projected throughout the show was that she was a normal girl who ate normally.

And, by the way, can I say right now that I heart The Deep South for apparently being more fat positive than the rest of the country?

Here’s another telling line from the interview:

“At the Versace show none of the other girls were eating, and I brought a regular Italian lunch — you know, pasta and everything — and you should have seen them look at me.” [she said this in a very size-positive way, not a guilty way] “You know, you need brain-energy to walk and have a presence on the runway.” [So true! Earlier in the show a girl actually *collapsed and had to be put on oxygen* because I believe she wasn’t eating]

Congrats, Whitney, again. And I can’t wait to see your spreads, and I can’t wait to see you dumbfound the industry and the current media as you go on their shows and make them look so, so tiny. The news anchorwoman who introduced Whitney’s segment actually said, “So maybe I should eat something.” !! I know that was probably facetious, but I bet a part of her was thinking, Man, this girl won a beauty contest and she gets to eat…what the hell, my producers would *kill* me if I just gained five pounds!

Here’s to snapping this toxic culture’s spine in two. 🙂

6 comments on “Congrats, Whitney, for Consistent Showmanship

  1. vesta44 says:

    Maybe if more women around a size 10 get to be accepted as mainstream models, that will pave the way for women size 12 and 14 (and even larger) to eventually be accepted too. It’s a start, no matter how modest a start it is. Now we just need more models who think like Whitney and are able to convince designers that they’re actually people who wear clothing and not clothes hangers that only display it.

  2. BigLiberty says:

    “Now we just need more models who think like Whitney and are able to convince designers that they’re actually people who wear clothing and not clothes hangers that only display it.”

    HIT THE NAIL ON THE HEAD. All sizes should have representation, even “underweight.” It’s the modeling CULTURE that’s toxic — frankly, I consider what most models are pressured to do by their agents physical abuse, and it should be illegal. Esp. since that pressure directly results in DEATHS, and *definitely* results in a lower quality of life for models who aren’t naturally that thin (btw, even naturally thin models are pressured to lose weight!).

  3. violetyoshi says:

    What I like to say about 9 year olds dieting, is “When I was 9 the only thing I cared about was Super Mario Bros., and that’s the way it was supposed to be!” For those of you not familiar with video games, or when I was born which was 82′. Super Mario Bros was the only platformer game available for the original Nintendo. Yes the pixel squares, 8-Bit Nintendo. I might be wrong, but it was the only one I was aware of anyways.

  4. anniemcphee says:

    Damn, the video keeps screwing up at around 2:40 and I can’t make it play more. What a beautiful dress, too. And yeah, she’s not “fat” by any measure – I don’t even think she’d fill out the dresses of the old “bombshells.” But it’s wonderful if she’s putting out a size-positive message, and REALLY wonderful for her to be talking about how evil it is to stigmatize children into diets and self-hatred and “I’m fat oh no!” So even if I prefer brunettes (WonderWoman, I’m still looking at you, and you Jaclyn Smith) I’m very very happy for her to have won the competition. 🙂 Though I still have a soft spot for the psycho Adrianne Curry lol.

  5. worthyourweight says:

    AnnieM,
    I’m a big brunette fan here, too. Interestingly, Whitney started out with very dark/almost black hair. Tyra made her bleach it (they give all the contestants hair makeovers during the course of the show).

  6. anniemcphee says:

    Argh, I knew it! She’s clearly very pretty, but I personally think she would be more beautiful as a brunette. And yes of course that is a personal aesthetic (clearly not the dominant one these days) but I’m glad I’m not alone. I got so discouraged when EVERY woman in Hollywood started bleaching – even Reese Witherspoon, who was a natural ash blonde to begin with! When I was growing up, the worst thing you could do when bleaching your hair was to make it “brassy” – that’s why they had “drabbers” – now like 99% of the women in Hollywood have brassy bleach-blonde hair. And the brunettes are so scarce lol. Ok, I can’t help it, I like to look at pretty women as much as anyone. 😀

Leave a Reply

