This is going to be unpopular…

…but it has to be said. This kind of infighting is going to stymie the movement. It’s going to split it and make it weak. It likely already is, if the comments to that post are any clue.

I don’t understand where that kind of vitriolic racism has come from, but it’s got to stop. There’s racist remarks about nearly every group there, and equal misunderstood, one-dimensional comments about white people as there are the racist grouping WoC (women of color, which bundles everyone who isn’t “white” into a neat package). The great thing about NOT being narrowminded is that you understand you haven’t lived someone else’s life, yet you do your damned best to apply what you HAVE lived in order to understand them better. You realize that people are just people, and we’re more alike than we’re not. You don’t start spouting hateful language at people you believe are privileged because they’re one color (‘scuse me, have you lived their lives?) and you don’t start spouting “I hate PC” at people who you believed are non-privileged (‘scuse me, but they’ve heard it before!). I’m not saying that individual perspectives aren’t important to take into account. But do I go around telling everyone who’s never been in an abusive relationship that they have no idea where I’m coming from and we could never really get along because there’s a fundamental disconnect between our respective histories?

Listen, if you want to split yourself off from other people because you don’t like their skin color and what you believe comes from that skin color, just fucking say it. Stop acting like you’re some kind of martyr or hero or that others FORCE you to split off from them. This goes for the white “I’m sick of PC” -ers and the “Fat is the last acceptable form of prejudice” -ers, as well as the people who claim that, because of my skin color alone, I could never deserve to march arm-in-arm with them against the prejudice that we have in common.

I know you don’t see what you’re doing as splitting the movement, making us weaker, etc. But you are. Stop infighting, and find our common ground. If race is a sensitive subject, and for instance, some of you don’t like the fact that Dr. King is my idol because my skin color doesn’t match his, or you think that I’m some alien to your history because of my skin color, fine. You don’t have to march with me. I wish you would anyway; I don’t like that you distrust my skin color, but I’ll march with you anyway. Because we are more alike than we are different. We’ve got the most important parts of ourselves in common—we want hate to end. Our push, our characters, our minds, our UNIQUE EXPERIENCES which only ADD to our strength, THAT’S what makes us strong.

This is extremely difficult to write. I don’t like conflict, as a rule. It’s probably why I was cowed for so long by manipulative jerk after manipulative jerk. But do you know what shutting up and not standing up for myself against their abuse did for me? Fuck nothing. And I’m NOT going to stand for that kind of racism. Tara was right; we do have different histories. But she was wrong to lump me into some kind of group based on my skin color, assuming privilege, assuming experience, assuming a mindset.

It’s not white women or black women or Asian women who are splitting this movement; it’s a divisive mindset that is splitting this movement.

3 comments on “This is going to be unpopular…

  1. starkeymonster says:

    ou don’t start spouting hateful language at people you believe are privileged because they’re one color (’scuse me, have you lived their lives?)

    White privilege is a fact in U.S. society. If you think it isn’t, I’d suggest reading unpacking the knapsack of white privilege

    Among many other things
    5. I can go shopping alone most of the time, pretty well assured that I will not be followed or harassed.

    6. I can turn on the television or open to the front page of the paper and see people of my race widely represented.

    12. I can go into a music shop and count on finding the music of my race represented, into a supermarket and find the staple foods which fit with my cultural traditions, into a hairdresser’s shop and find someone who can cut my hair.

    30. If I declare there is a racial issue at hand, or there isn’t a racial issue at hand, my race will lend me more credibility for either position than a person of color will have.

    and while I’m link dropping this is also helpful

  2. BigLiberty says:

    ^And I get the first racist, knee-jerk comment. Would you make it if I were some other color?

    You *assume* that I believe there’s no such thing as so-called “white privilege” which is a grouped term to mean the ways that non-white people don’t have equal representation or equal rights or equal quality of life, etc. Did I ever, ever say that? Way to spin my statement, quoted out of context, and with apparently NO understanding.

    You *assume*, because of two things:

    1. My skin color
    2. My claim that someone was making racist comments about whites (though I recognized there were other, equal racist claims being made about people of “color”)

    that I think certain things and am a complete idiot. Any ten year-old can flip on the TV and make those observations, etc.

    Your comment was not only racist, but insulting to my intelligence. Please do not group me because of my skin color, or assume that my skin color has lowered my IQ or observational ability somehow. I’m not saying that I know what it’s like to live a non-white person’s life (like I said in my post), but really, how insulting can you be?

    The “groupthink” assumption really has to stop.

  3. BigLiberty says:

    ^Oh yes, and furthermore, if you can’t see how racist and stereotypical the “music of my race” point was from your #12, you have no business acting self-righteous about issues on race. Skin color derives from deep ancestry, which in America means (usually) some non-North American continent. And no, Italian music isn’t well-represented in my local “music shop.” If we really want to stay true to definitions.

    EDIT: I’m shutting off further comments, because I’m seriously angry about this ignorance and my heart rate is going through the roof. I don’t want to spend the rest of the night repeating myself because some people want to spin what I say, or ignore the whole point of the argument in order to push forth their color-mindful (opposite of color-blind) agendas.

    For final clarification, I’m a color-blind person, and I’m going to stay that way in how I act. If you want to say that I’m inherently racist because I’m “white,” or that white people are characteristic X with history Y and mindset Z, say it elsewhere. *I* was taught that people don’t have characteristic X with history Y and mindset Z due to apparent traits, and that it is the content of their character, not the color of their skin, that makes a man (or woman). And you’re NOT going to persuade me otherwise.

Comments are closed.